12 courtsPublic ParkPickleball Courts in California
4 cities · 28 verified venues · 128 courts
Courts in California28
Every verified venue in California, largest first. Open a venue for its sources, or its city for the map.
12 courtsPublic Park
10 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Del Norte Athletic Club
Lighted
3040 BECERRA WAY, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95821
10 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
10 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Life Time Arden
1220 ARDEN WAY, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95815
10 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
8 courtsPublic Park
8 courtsPublic ParkLong Beach
El Dorado Park Tennis & Pickleball Center
Lighted
2800 Studebaker Road
lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
8 courtsPublic Park
8 courtsPublic ParkIrvine
Mike Ward Community Park
Lighted
20 Lake Road
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
CheckedSep 2026
6 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Eastern Oak Park
3127 EASTERN AVE, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95821
6 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
6 courtsPublic ParkIrvine
Portola Springs Community Park
Lighted
900 Tomato Springs
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
CheckedSep 2026
4 courtsOutdoorSacramento
ACC Senior Services Center
7334 PARK CITY DR, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95831
4 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
4 courtsPublic Park
4 courtsPublic ParkIrvine
Heritage Community Park
Lighted
14301 Yale Ave.
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
CheckedSep 2026
4 courtsPublic Park
4 courtsSacramento
Sacramento Central YMCA
2021 W ST, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95818
lighting not stated · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
4 courtsPublic Park
4 courtsPublic Park
3 courtsPublic Park
3 courtsPublic ParkLong Beach
El Dorado Park West
2800 N Studebaker Rd
lighting not stated · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
2 courtsPublic Park
2 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Magnolia Park
251 Greg Thatch Circle
2 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
2 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Orchard Park
Lighted
2936 W RIVER DR, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95833
2 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
2 courtsOutdoorSacramento
R. Burnett Miller Park
3260 MC KINLEY BLVD, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95816
2 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
2 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Southside Park
Lighted
2115 6TH ST, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95818
2 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
2 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Sycamore Park
Lighted
5400 BANFIELD DR, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95835
2 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
2 courtsOutdoorSacramento
Valley Oak Park
Lighted
2780 Mabry Drive
2 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
2 courtsOutdoorSacramento
William Curtis Park
Lighted
3349 E CURTIS DR, SACRAMENTO, CA, 95818
2 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
1 courtPublic Park
1 courtOutdoorSacramento
Eugene H. Ahner Park
Lighted
5517 Manzanita Ave.
1 outdoor court · lit for evening play · nets not stated
CheckedSep 2026
No verified venue in California matches those filters. Clear the filters
Cities in California4
Choose a city to see every verified court in it, on its map.
Counties in California4
The same verified venues, grouped by county.
Pickleball in California, in writing
28 pickleball venues across 4 cities in California, each with its source and the date it was checked. Last checked Sep 2026.
Across California, 11 of 15 venues that report it (13 not stated) have lit courts for evening play.
What we cover in this state
California has fifty-eight counties. This page covers three cities in two of them.
Fifteen venues, 79 courts, three municipal operators, all read on 7 September 2026. Orange County holds seven of the venues and 31 of the courts: Irvine with three venues and eighteen courts, Huntington Beach with four and thirteen. Los Angeles County holds eight venues and 48 courts, all inside Long Beach. Every venue is run by a city parks department. The El Dorado Park Tennis & Pickleball Center is managed for the City of Long Beach under contract by BTG Tennis & Pickleball, and it sits in the City's own park directory. Not one private club, gated-community court, school gym or commercial facility appears. That is a statement about who writes court counts down, not about where California plays.
The three cities arrived by three different kinds of document. Irvine states every count twice, once in a sentence on its pickleball page and once in each park's amenity list as "8 Lighted Pickleball Courts" or the like, and the three venues where the two records agree are the three that publish. Huntington Beach states everything it states in four lines under one heading, "CITY PARKS WITH A PICKLEBALL COURT (NO LIGHTING)", each line a park name, a street address and a count. Long Beach gives each park one line with the address in brackets and a count that says whether the courts are dedicated or striped onto something else, as at Veterans Park: "Hybrid location: 8 pickleball courts on 1 tennis court and 4 dedicated pickleball courts." Where a line carries two figures, the published count is the City's own sum.
No operator in the three cities calls any court indoor or outdoor, so the indoor and outdoor breakdowns are empty for all fifteen venues. No operator writes the word free. Irvine prices four reservable courts and calls the other fourteen first come, first served. Huntington Beach prices reserved tennis courts at $9 an hour and never prices a pickleball court. Long Beach calls its park courts first come, first served and prices its tennis centre. First come, first served is a play format, not a price. No operator names a surface.
Four venues on the Cities' own pages are absent, and they are named rather than dropped. Los Olivos Community Park in Irvine is two lit courts on two City pages and "3 Lighted Pickleball Courts" on the park's own, and a count the operator states two ways cannot publish. The Billie Jean King Tennis Center in Long Beach is the same shape, four shared-use courts on the City's pickleball page and "8 Pickleball Courts, Fully Lighted" on the centre's own. Somerset Park's address, "1500 E. Carson", is placed by the Census geocoder in the neighbouring city of Carson. Whaley Park is "Dual-striped pickleball and volleyball court" with no number in it. The rest of California, Los Angeles and Anaheim included, has no page here because nobody has checked it against a named source, not because it was checked and failed.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-07
Playing here through the year
None of the three California operators states a season, a rain policy or a summer closure. What they state falls into three kinds: hours that run to a clock, hours that run to the sun, and lights.
Irvine's hours run to a clock. All three parks are "6 a.m.-10 p.m., Daily" on their own pages, and every one of the eighteen courts is lit in the City's own word, so the window is sixteen hours long and does not shrink in December. The reservation windows sit inside it, "between the hours of 7 a.m. to noon, and 4 to 10 p.m." for Courts #3 and #4 at Mike Ward and Courts #5 and #6 at Portola Springs.
Huntington Beach's hours run to the sun. The City states no hours at all and one parenthesis instead: "(NO LIGHTING)". Thirteen courts in four parks, none usable after dark. The trap is the City's tennis page, which prints "Dusk to 10 p.m. nightly" for lighted tennis courts at Edison Community Park and Marina Park, the same addresses as two of the pickleball venues. That closing time belongs to tennis courts, which these are not.
Long Beach runs both ways. DeForest Park's page reads "Park Hours: Dawn to Dusk", the one park in the city with stated hours for the park itself. The El Dorado Park Tennis & Pickleball Center runs to a clock, and the pickleball inside that is scheduled: drop-in "on Tuesday and Thursday mornings from 8 to 11 am, and Friday evenings from 6 to 9pm" as the page stood when read, with "NO LIGHT FEES" and "8 Pickleball Courts, Fully Lighted". The other Long Beach parks state no hours and no lighting either way.
So the evening picture in the California we cover is this. Four venues are stated lit, 26 courts: the three Irvine parks and the El Dorado tennis centre. Four venues are stated unlit, thirteen courts, all in Huntington Beach. Seven venues, forty courts, all of them Long Beach parks, carry nothing either way, which means nobody has said rather than that the courts are dark.
No operator uses the word indoor or outdoor about a pickleball court, so the indoor count for California is not zero but unstated. A reader looking for a roof will not find one on these pages, and will not find a statement that there is none.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07
The places worth the drive
Veterans Park in Long Beach is the largest venue in the state on these pages, at twelve courts, and the twelve is the City's own arithmetic: "Hybrid location: 8 pickleball courts on 1 tennis court and 4 dedicated pickleball courts." Eight of the twelve are lines on a single tennis court, and the City's rule for every park court applies: "first-come, first-served and court signage regarding shared use must be observed". The number a player finds depends on who arrived first and what the sign says. The park's own page does not mention pickleball at all.
Four venues hold eight courts, in four different ways. DeForest Park's are "8 dedicated courts", the largest dedicated set in the state on these pages, open Dawn to Dusk. Mike Ward Community Park's are eight lit courts open until 10 p.m. daily, two of them, Courts #3 and #4, reservable at "Resident Rate: $17/hr" and "Non-Resident Rate: $19/hr". Marina Vista Park's are "4 dedicated pickleball courts and 4 dual-striped courts for either tennis or pickleball", at a park the City's pickleball page locates only by cross streets, "Colorado St. & Santiago", and whose own page gives "5355 Eliot St." The El Dorado Park Tennis & Pickleball Center's are "eight shared-use pickleball courts", "Fully Lighted", and priced at "$5 per person for drop-in play (up to three hours), while private pickleball court reservations are $10 per court per hour". It is the one venue in Long Beach with a price, a lighting answer and clock hours.
Portola Springs Community Park is the home of the one league any California operator publishes, Irvine Team Pickleball: "Eight teams face off in a 7-week Round Robin and a 3-week single-elimination playoffs", "a self-rated level 3.5 league", "$490 per team per season". Heritage Community Park has four lit courts beside "12 Lighted Tennis Courts", and it is the one Irvine venue with no reservable court.
Junipero Beach is notable for what it was: "2 dedicated pickleball courts on repurposed half basketball court", at 2100 E. Ocean Blvd, with no park page in the City's directory, so the one line is the whole record.
Huntington Beach's notable fact is a heading rather than a venue. "CITY PARKS WITH A PICKLEBALL COURT (NO LIGHTING)" answers the lighting question for Boardwalk, Edison, Marina and Worthy at once, in the negative, and it is why those thirteen courts publish as unlit rather than as unknown. Boardwalk Park's one court is one game at a time and daylight only.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-07
What is changing
Nothing in California is published as a court count that changed. What the three Cities print is one sentence that uses the word, two notices of intent, and a set of schedule changes written in the present tense.
The sentence is Long Beach's: "Pickleball continues to be a growing sport in Long Beach. Staff has worked hard with the Long Beach Pickleball Advisory Group to identify locations to enjoy this exciting activity." It is followed by a headline total of 24 dedicated courts that the City's own list does not reach. The list reaches 23, and the list is what is published here. It also shows how the courts were found: two dedicated courts on a repurposed half basketball court at Junipero Beach, eight courts on one tennis court at Veterans, three on a shared sports court at El Dorado Park West. Twenty-five of the City's 48 courts are on ground that was something else first.
The tennis centre is written the same way. Drop-in runs on two mornings and a Friday evening now, and "Future offerings will expand drop-in play on every weekday morning from 8 to 11 am" with reservations "from 11 am to 4 pm Monday thru Friday on eight courts". The park rule is "NO reservations at this time", and "at this time" is the City's phrase.
The notices of intent are Irvine's: "The City is evaluating building pickleball courts at the Great Park", and "The City of Irvine is currently developing a master plan for Heritage Community Park". Neither carries a count, a date or a drawing, and neither adds anything to the eighteen. Irvine's own totals disagree as well, "12 public pickleball courts" on the regulations page against twenty by the pickleball page's per-park sentence, which is what an inventory moving faster than the pages that describe it looks like.
Huntington Beach prints nothing about change at all. Its four lines carry no date, and the one thing the City states about its pickleball courts beyond a count and an address is that they have no lights.
Three counts here read higher than the ones imported into this site: Heritage at four rather than two, Veterans at twelve rather than eight, Marina Vista at eight rather than four. Each is more likely a better record than a construction notice, because no City says a court was built.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Long Beach Parks, Recreation and Marine, checked 2026-09-07 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-07
Questions about pickleball in California
How many pickleball courts are there in California?
79 courts across fifteen venues in three cities, each with a named source and a date: Long Beach with 48, Irvine with 18, Huntington Beach with 13. Nobody can give an honest total for the whole state. The three Cities' own pages name four more venues that fail on a count stated two ways, on an address the Census places in Carson, or on no number at all.
Which courts are actually lit?
Four venues, 26 courts. Mike Ward, Portola Springs and Heritage in Irvine are lit on the City's pickleball page and "Lighted" in each park's amenity list, eighteen courts open until 10 p.m. daily. The El Dorado Park Tennis & Pickleball Center in Long Beach is "8 Pickleball Courts, Fully Lighted". All four Huntington Beach parks are stated unlit under one heading. Seven Long Beach parks, forty courts, carry no lighting answer.
Is it free to play in California?
No venue in California is recorded as free, because no operator writes the word. Irvine prices four reservable courts at $17 an hour for residents and $19 for non-residents, and states no price for the other fourteen. Long Beach calls its park courts first come, first served, which is a play format rather than a price, and prices its tennis centre at $5 per person for drop-in play and $10 per court per hour to reserve. Huntington Beach prices tennis courts and says nothing about pickleball.
Can I book a court anywhere in California?
At two Irvine parks and one Long Beach tennis centre. Courts #3 and #4 at Mike Ward and Courts #5 and #6 at Portola Springs are booked online, residents five days ahead and non-residents three, in one or two hour blocks between 7 a.m. and noon and 4 and 10 p.m. The El Dorado Park Tennis & Pickleball Center takes private pickleball reservations at $10 per court per hour. Long Beach's park courts are "NO reservations at this time", and Huntington Beach publishes no booking route for pickleball.
Why are Los Olivos, Somerset Park, the Billie Jean King Tennis Center and Whaley Park not listed?
Three different reasons. Los Olivos in Irvine and the Billie Jean King centre in Long Beach each carry two City counts, two courts and three, four courts and eight, and a count the operator states two ways cannot publish. Somerset Park's stated eight courts sit at "1500 E. Carson", which the Census geocoder places in the city of Carson rather than Long Beach. Whaley Park's line, "Dual-striped pickleball and volleyball court", has no number in it.


























