21 courtsPublic ParkMesa
Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center
Lighted
4125 E McKellips Rd
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
2 cities · 7 venues · 55 courts
Every verified venue in Arizona, largest first. Open a venue for its sources, or its city for the map.
21 courtsPublic ParkMesa
Lighted
4125 E McKellips Rd
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
10 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkScottsdale
Lighted
15444 N. 100th St.
10 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
8 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkScottsdale
Lighted
32220 N. 74th Way
8 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
8 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkScottsdale
Lighted
11320 E. Via Linda
8 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
4 courtsPublic ParkMesa
710 S. Extension Rd.
lighting not stated · nets not stated · restroom nearby
3 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkScottsdale
Lighted
20199 N. 78th Pl.
3 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
1 courtPublic ParkNo court in Arizona matches those filters. Clear the filters
Choose a city to see every verified court in it, on its map.
The same verified venues, grouped by county.
Pickleball courts in Arizona: 7 venues across 2 cities, each with a named source and the date it was checked. Court counts, lights, cost and addresses. Last checked Sep 2026.
Across Arizona, 5 of 5 venues that report it (2 not stated) have lit courts for evening play.
Arizona has fifteen counties. This page covers two cities in one of them.
Seven venues, fifty-five courts, two municipal operators, all in Maricopa County. Scottsdale holds four of the venues and twenty-nine of the courts: ten at Horizon Park, eight at Cholla Park, eight at Ashler Hills Park and three at Thompson Peak Park. Mesa holds three venues and twenty-six courts: twenty-one at the Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center, four at Kleinman Park and one at Chaparral Park. Every venue is run by a city parks department. No private club, resort, retirement community, school or church gym appears, which is a statement about who writes court counts down rather than about where pickleball in Arizona is played.
The two cities arrived by two kinds of document. Scottsdale publishes one pickleball page that lists five locations: "Eight outdoor lighted pickleball courts" at Ashler Hills, "Eight outdoor lighted courts" at Cholla, "10 outdoor lighted courts" at Horizon, "Three outdoor lighted courts" at Thompson Peak, every one "Open sunrise to 10:30 p.m." Each park's own page repeats the count in a feature list and, at three of the four, adds the price and the sharing rule. The Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center's page counts "21 lighted pickleball courts" in its opening sentence. Kleinman's count sits in a list of reservable spaces, "Pickleball Courts (4)". Chaparral's is a bracket: "Pickleball Court (1 lined court shared with basketball use, bring your own portable net)".
What the two cities refuse, or fail to say, is part of the record. Scottsdale's fifth location is Scottsdale Community College, "Six outdoor lighted pickleball courts" where the City runs free drop-in play; the Census places 9000 E. Chaparral Road in no incorporated place, so it is not a Scottsdale venue by the test used here. Six more Mesa parks, Gene Autry, Christopher J. Brady, Red Mountain, Augusta Ranch, Sheepherders and Washington, print the label "Pickleball Court" and never a number.
Chandler was read on 7 September 2026 and did not publish. Its City states counts at five parks and two of them resolve, La Paloma and Brooks Crossing, one court each, against a threshold of three venues. Tumbleweed Park's "18 outdoor courts with LED lighting" sit at "2041 S. Pioneer Parkway", an address neither resolver finds; Arrowhead Meadows' "six courts" sit at "1475 W. Erie St.", which the Census answers as East Erie in a different postcode. Beyond that, Phoenix, Tucson, Gilbert, Glendale, Tempe, Peoria and the rest of the state have no file behind this page, which is a statement about a reading list rather than about their courts.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Chandler Parks, checked 2026-09-16 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-04 · OpenStreetMap contributors (Nominatim), checked 2026-09-04
No Arizona operator on this page writes the word summer, heat, monsoon or season of a pickleball court, and this page will not supply the climate from memory. What the two Cities state is a set of hours, a lit court at five of seven venues, one sentence about mornings and one closure with a date.
The hours are the seasonal story, read as hours. Scottsdale's four venues are "Open sunrise to 10:30 p.m." daily, and each is described as "lighted" in the same line as its count, so the City is publishing a day that starts at first light and runs several hours past dark. Three of its four park pages add "Mornings are typically the busiest time for pickleball play", at Cholla, Horizon and Thompson Peak. Together the two statements describe play that gathers at first light and is provided for after dark; what happens in between, and why, Scottsdale does not say.
The Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center publishes the plainest version of that shape. It opens 5:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. every day, and again 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. Monday through Friday, with no evening session at the weekend. The Center is closed from late morning until five on a weekday, and the City does not say why. Its twenty-one courts are "lighted", and its price rises after dark: "Pickleball Court Daytime Fee: $9.00/court per hour" and "Pickleball Court Nighttime Fee: $13.00/court per hour". Mesa's two park venues run "Sunrise to 10 PM", Kleinman's line adding "or as posted".
The one dated closure is Scottsdale's. When the City's pages were read on 4 September 2026, both the pickleball page and Thompson Peak's own page said all pickleball courts there "will be closed Monday, Aug. 17 through Friday, Sept. 11, 2026, for resurfacing", expected to reopen on 12 September "weather permitting". Re-read on 16 September, neither page carries the notice.
Lighting is answered at five venues and fifty courts: all twenty-nine in Scottsdale and the twenty-one at the Center. Kleinman Park and Chaparral Park carry no lighting statement for their pickleball courts. Mesa marks a lit amenity by writing the word into its name, and the pickleball entries at both parks carry no mark, so five courts are recorded as lighting not stated, which means nobody has said, not that the courts are dark.
The indoor count is zero because the question is unanswered. Scottsdale calls all twenty-nine of its courts "outdoor". Mesa uses neither word of any pickleball court, including the Center's twenty-one, so no indoor page exists for either city and the outdoor page exists for Scottsdale alone. Shade, covered courts, rain and heat closures are mentioned by nobody.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16
The Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center is the largest pickleball site published in Arizona, at twenty-one courts, and it holds more than a third of everything published in the state. It is the one Arizona venue its City files under recreation facilities rather than parks. The City's opening sentence counts "16 lighted tennis courts, 21 lighted pickleball courts and 4 sand volleyball courts available for rental". It has a front desk and a pro shop, "1 pickleball and 2 tennis ball machines available for rent", and online booking "up to two weeks in advance". Players "check-in at the front desk prior to your reservation to check-in and get your court assignment number". It is the one venue in the state with a stated charge: "Court fees must be paid inside pro shop before using the facility. Unauthorized use of the facility is considered trespassing". The City warns that "Tournaments, league and lesson programming, special events, or maintenance may limit court space for the general public".
Horizon Park, ten courts at 15444 N. 100th St. in north-east Scottsdale, is the largest free venue in Arizona. "There are ten pickleball courts at Horizon Park, which are available for drop in public use and are not reservable. They are free to use, and are open from sunrise until 10:30 p.m. daily." It shares with Cholla and Thompson Peak the state's one written sharing rule: "standard game format; first side scoring 11 points or leading by at least 2 points wins", with "a 30 minute time limit, at which time players should rotate off the court with any waiting players".
Cholla Park's eight courts at 11320 E. Via Linda carry the same sentences and a phone number, 480-312-0227. Ashler Hills Park, eight courts at 32220 N. 74th Way at the far northern edge of the city, is the least documented of the four: its park page's feature list reads "8 lighted pickleball courts" and the page says nothing else about them, so its price and its sharing rule are not stated. Thompson Peak Park's three courts at 20199 N. 78th Pl. are the only ones in Arizona where the operator counts nets, "Three portable nets".
Kleinman Park in Mesa, four courts at 710 S. Extension Rd., is counted where the City lists what can be booked, "Pickleball Courts (4)", booked through the Center "at least 24 hours before your reservation date/time". Chaparral Park at 1635 N Gilbert Road is one court and the plainest description in the state: "1 lined court shared with basketball use, bring your own portable net". It is the one venue in Arizona recorded as nets not provided.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16
No Arizona operator on this page prints a construction date, a bond, a planned court or a count history. What the two Cities print is a dated page, a resurfacing, a set of labels waiting on a number, and one new facility in a city that does not publish.
The dated page is Scottsdale's. Its pickleball page read "Last Updated: Aug 10, 2026" on 4 September and "Sep 15, 2026" on 16 September, and the visible change between the two readings is the removal of the Thompson Peak closure notice. The closure itself is the one piece of maintenance stated in the state: three courts shut for resurfacing from 17 August to 11 September 2026, with the new surface unnamed.
Ashler Hills Park is growth on this page rather than on the ground. The City has listed it all along; the US Census address file has no record of 32220 N. 74th Way, and the park was unpublishable until 4 September 2026, when a second resolver, OpenStreetMap, was added and matched the address at house-number level. Eight lit courts moved from refused to published without the City changing a word.
Mesa's labels are the queue. Six parks print "Pickleball Court" in a feature list and never a figure. Three of them, Red Mountain, Sheepherders and Washington, add two lines: "Lines at basketball court requires personal net" and "Standalone courts have nets". A standalone court with a net is a court somebody built, and the City has not counted it. Augusta Ranch reads "Pickleball Court lines (shared with basketball court, requires personal net)". Sheepherders and Augusta Ranch each carry a playground closure "for renovations" running to December 2026, which says nothing about their courts. Whether Mesa has more than twenty-six pickleball courts is not in doubt; how many more is not stated.
The new facility is in Chandler. The City's page for the Tumbleweed Park Pickleball Facility says "One year after the groundbreaking, the facility features 18 outdoor courts with LED lighting", open "daily from 6 a.m. to 10:30 p.m." on "a first-come, first-served basis", and "There is no cost to play at Chandler's outdoor pickleball courts, and reservations are not currently accepted." Eighteen courts, and the address "2041 S. Pioneer Parkway" resolves in neither the Census file nor OpenStreetMap, so the largest new build in the state's record has now been refused three times.
What would change this page most is a record. Chandler publishes if one of Tumbleweed, Arrowhead Meadows or Arbuckle ever resolves, or if Homestead North or Pecos Ranch ever gains a number. Six Mesa parks wait on a digit. Outside Maricopa County the queue is the rest of the state.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Mesa Parks, Recreation and Community Facilities, checked 2026-09-16 · City of Chandler Parks, checked 2026-09-16 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-04 · OpenStreetMap contributors (Nominatim), checked 2026-09-04
Nobody can tell you honestly, and this page will not pretend to. What has been checked is 55 courts across 7 venues in 2 cities, Scottsdale with 29 and Mesa with 26, each with a named source and a date. Mesa names 6 more parks with courts and no number, Scottsdale runs free play on 6 courts outside its limits, and Chandler states 27 courts at 5 parks, of which 2 parks, 1 court each, pass every gate.
On no published court. Scottsdale describes all 29 of its courts as outdoor. Mesa uses neither word of any pickleball court, including the 21 at the Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center, so those 26 are recorded as neither rather than as outdoor. No indoor filter page exists for either city, and the outdoor page exists for Scottsdale alone. A count in a list of reservable spaces does not say which way a court faces the sky.
Stated free at 3 venues, all in Scottsdale: Cholla, Horizon and Thompson Peak each say "They are free to use" on their own park pages, 21 courts between them. Stated not free at 1: the Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center charges $9.00 per court per hour by day and $13.00 at night, paid in the pro shop first. Ashler Hills, Kleinman and Chaparral, 13 courts, carry no price sentence and are recorded as not stated.
50 of the 55. Scottsdale writes "lighted" into every court line on its pickleball page, so all 29 of its courts are lit, and Mesa's Center counts "21 lighted pickleball courts". Kleinman Park's 4 and Chaparral Park's 1 carry no lighting statement. Mesa marks lit amenities with the word in the name, and those two pickleball entries carry no mark either way, so they read lighting not stated, not unlit.
The Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center, at 21 courts, a staffed facility with a pro shop, ball machines for hire and online booking 2 weeks ahead. Horizon Park in Scottsdale follows at 10, then Cholla Park and Ashler Hills Park at 8 each, Kleinman Park at 4, Thompson Peak Park at 3 and Chaparral Park at 1. Chandler's Tumbleweed facility states 18 and is unpublished because its address resolves in neither resolver.
At 2 published venues, both in Mesa. The Mesa Tennis & Pickleball Center takes bookings online "up to two weeks in advance", with a request form beyond that. Kleinman Park's 4 courts are booked through the Center, online or by phone on 480-644-3874, "at least 24 hours before". Nothing in Scottsdale can be reserved: "Courts are available on a first come, first served basis. No reservation is required." Chaparral is not listed as reservable.