10 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkHorizon Park
Lighted
15444 N. 100th St.
10 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
We list 4 pickleball venues in Scottsdale, covering 29 courts. Every figure on this page comes from the parks records of the authority that runs them, and every venue below carries the source it came from and the date we checked it. Last checked Sep 2026.
All 4 have a page of their own, with the source behind every fact and the date it was checked.
10 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkLighted
15444 N. 100th St.
10 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
8 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkLighted
32220 N. 74th Way
8 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
8 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkLighted
11320 E. Via Linda
8 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
3 courtsOutdoorPublic ParkLighted
20199 N. 78th Pl.
3 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
On lighting, 4 of 4 venues have lit courts for evening play. On cost, 3 of 3 venues that report it (1 not stated) are free to play. Where an operator does not state a fee we have not claimed one either way.
See all 4 Scottsdale pickleball venues in one table — court count, indoor or outdoor, lights, nets and address — so comparing options across Scottsdale, Arizona takes one scroll instead of nine open tabs.
| Venue | Courts | Type | Lights | Nets | Address |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Horizon Park | 10 courts | Outdoor | Yes | Not stated | 15444 N. 100th St. |
| Ashler Hills Park | 8 courts | Outdoor | Yes | Not stated | 32220 N. 74th Way |
| Cholla Park | 8 courts | Outdoor | Yes | Not stated | 11320 E. Via Linda |
| Thompson Peak Park | 3 courts | Outdoor | Yes | Not stated | 20199 N. 78th Pl. |
Horizon Park has ten lighted courts, the largest count in Scottsdale and one of the larger sets anywhere in this directory. Free, drop-in, not reservable, open from sunrise to 10:30 p.m. daily. The City says mornings are typically busiest here, and the sharing rule that applies (30-minute games, rotate off for anyone waiting) is what makes ten courts feel like ten rather than like four occupied ones.
Any of them: all four published Scottsdale venues are lit and all four run to 10:30 p.m. Cholla Park is the pick if you want eight courts without Horizon's crowd. The City marks it "Eight outdoor lighted courts", free to use, drop-in and not reservable. In a city where summer daytime play is barely an option, sunrise-to-10:30 p.m. lighting at every venue is the single most valuable thing Scottsdale publishes.
Three of the four state it outright: "They are free to use" appears on the park pages for Cholla, Horizon and Thompson Peak. Across this whole directory only six other cities have a free court, and only because their operators wrote the word down too. Ashler Hills is not a paid venue as far as anyone knows; its park page lists the courts among the park’s features and says nothing about cost, so its price is unstated rather than confirmed.
Ashler Hills Park has eight lighted courts at the northern edge of the city, open sunrise to 10:30 p.m. like every Scottsdale venue. It is the least documented of the four: its park page lists "8 lighted pickleball courts" among the park’s features and stops there, so the price and the rotation rule the City publishes elsewhere are not stated for it. It is also the newest addition to this page, having been unpublishable until this site added a second address resolver in September 2026.
Scottsdale publishes nothing about parking at any of the four venues. All four are suburban parks in the north and east of the city rather than street-grid sites, and Ashler Hills is the furthest out, near Cave Creek. That is a reading of the map, not a fact from the City.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-04
This is the first city page in the directory where this section is written from a source rather than from inference. Scottsdale states it, in the same words, on three of the four park pages: "Mornings are typically the busiest time for pickleball play" at Cholla, at Horizon and at Thompson Peak.
The City pairs it with a sharing rule. Play is standard format, first to 11 and win by two, with a 30-minute time limit, "at which time players should rotate off the court with any waiting players". So a queue at 9 a.m. is a queue that moves. Nothing is reservable in Scottsdale: courts are first come, first served, and no amplified sound is permitted. Ashler Hills' park page names "8 lighted pickleball courts" and says nothing else, so neither the rotation rule nor the peak-time note is stated for that park.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04
No surface is stated for any Scottsdale court, which is ordinary: few cities in this directory have ever published one. What the City does publish is maintenance history: Thompson Peak Park's three courts were closed from 17 August to 11 September 2026 for resurfacing, and were expected to reopen on the 12th, weather permitting. That is why Thompson Peak is published as closed.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04
Twenty-nine courts across four parks, every one of them lit, and three of the four free to use in the City's own words. Horizon Park's ten courts are the largest single count; Cholla and Ashler Hills have eight each and Thompson Peak has three. The City also runs a free public drop-in programme on Scottsdale Community College's six lighted courts. That venue is not published here because the Census places 9000 E Chaparral Rd outside the city limits, but it is real and it is free.
City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-04 · OpenStreetMap contributors (Nominatim), checked 2026-09-04
Anything an operator does not publish shows as “Not stated” rather than being guessed at, most often surface, fees and opening hours. Many of these courts are very probably free to play, but a belief is not a source, so we do not print it as one.
Twenty-nine across four City of Scottsdale venues: ten at Horizon Park, eight each at Cholla Park and Ashler Hills Park, and three at Thompson Peak Park. All are outdoor and lit, and none can be booked.
Mornings, at the three venues where the City says so: "Mornings are typically the busiest time for pickleball play" appears on the Cholla, Horizon and Thompson Peak pages. This is the only city in this directory whose operator has published a peak time, so it is the only city page here where that answer is a fact rather than an inference.
At three of the four, yes: each of those park pages states "They are free to use". Ashler Hills reads "not stated" on cost because its page names the courts and never mentions what they cost.
Because the City says it is. All three courts were closed from Monday 17 August to Friday 11 September 2026 for resurfacing, and are expected to reopen on Saturday 12 September, weather permitting. This page was checked on 4 September, inside that window.
Because its address could not be resolved until 4 September 2026. A venue must have a street address that resolves before it is published, and the US Census address file has no record of 32220 N. 74th Way. That day a second resolver, OpenStreetMap, was added. It resolves this address, so the courts now publish.
Scottsdale sits in Maricopa County. Every venue in the county, including these, is listed on Maricopa County. There is no Arizona state page yet either. A state page needs at least three published cities before it is a document rather than a copy of this one, and Arizona has fewer than that today, so we have not written one.
Every fact on this page comes from one of these, and each venue names the source behind each of its own fields: City of Scottsdale Parks and Recreation, checked 2026-09-04 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-04 · nominatim.openstreetmap.org, checked 2026-09-04. How we verify.