8 courtsPublic ParkMike Ward Community Park
Lighted
20 Lake Road
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
3 venues · 18 courts
We list 3 pickleball venues in Irvine, covering 18 courts. Every figure on this page comes from the parks records of the authority that runs them, and every venue below carries the source it came from and the date we checked it. Last checked Sep 2026. All 3 have a page of their own, with the source behind every fact and the date it was checked.
8 courtsPublic ParkLighted
20 Lake Road
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
6 courtsPublic ParkLighted
900 Tomato Springs
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
4 courtsPublic ParkLighted
14301 Yale Ave.
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
No venue in Irvine matches those filters. Clear the filters
8 unconfirmed listings in Irvine come from public directory data, not yet checked against an official source. How we verify listings.
5 courts
5 courtsLighted
5 Ethel Coplen Way, Irvine, CA
From public directory data
4 courts
4 courts
2 courts
2 courts
2 courts
2 courtsSee all 3 Irvine pickleball venues in one table — court count, indoor or outdoor, lights, nets and address — so comparing options across Irvine, California takes one scroll instead of nine open tabs.
| Venue | Courts | Type | Lights | Nets | Address |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mike Ward Community Park | 8 courts | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 20 Lake Road |
| Portola Springs Community Park | 6 courts | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 900 Tomato Springs |
| Heritage Community Park | 4 courts | Not stated | Yes | Not stated | 14301 Yale Ave. |
Mike Ward Community Park has eight lit pickleball courts, the largest set in Irvine, open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily in a 22-acre park with three restrooms, lighted basketball and racquetball courts and a sand volleyball court. Six courts are first come, first served; Courts #3 and #4 can be booked online at $17 an hour for residents and $19 for non-residents.
Portola Springs Community Park has six lit courts and is the home of Irvine Team Pickleball, the City's league: eight teams, a seven-week round robin, three weeks of playoffs, self-rated 3.5, $490 per team per season. Courts #5 and #6 are reservable at the same $17 and $19 rates as Mike Ward, and the City's contract instructors teach lessons here. Open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily.
Heritage Community Park has four lit courts and no reservation system: every court is first come, first served under the City's regulations, with a waiting board and a 60-minute doubles limit when others are waiting. It is the largest park of the three at 36.5 acres, with twelve lighted tennis courts, a lake, a splash pad and four restrooms, open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily.
The City of Irvine publishes nothing about parking at any of these three parks. The word appears on none of its pickleball, court regulations or park pages.
What each park page carries instead is an acreage and an amenity list, and those say what kind of site you are arriving at. Mike Ward Community Park is approximately 22 acres, with lighted basketball and racquetball courts, a sand volleyball court and three restrooms. Portola Springs Community Park is approximately 32 acres, with a community centre, lighted softball fields, soccer fields and tennis courts, and two restrooms. Heritage Community Park is the largest at approximately 36.5 acres, with twelve lighted tennis courts, a lake, a splash pad and four restrooms. A lot, a fee or a permit is stated at none of them.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07
Irvine states no peak times. What it states instead is how a court is shared. All three parks are open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily, and every one of the eighteen courts is lit, so the window is sixteen hours long and does not shrink at dusk. The court regulations say: "Open courts are on a first-come, first-serve basis. Please use the waiting board where available." When others are waiting, doubles is limited to 60 minutes and singles to 30, warm-up included. If nobody is waiting you may carry on.
Four courts run on a different clock. Courts #3 and #4 at Mike Ward and Courts #5 and #6 at Portola Springs can be reserved online "between the hours of 7 a.m. to noon, and 4 to 10 p.m.", in one- or two-hour blocks. Residents may book five days ahead and non-residents three. When nobody has booked them these courts revert to drop-in play. City sponsored programmes have priority over all other use.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07
The City names no surface for any pickleball court in Irvine, on the park pages, the regulations page or the pickleball page. What it does write, consistently, is the word lit. Each count appears twice, as "eight lit pickleball courts" on the pickleball page and "8 Lighted Pickleball Courts" in the park's amenity list, and the same pairing holds for the six at Portola Springs and the four at Heritage.
All eighteen are counted as pickleball courts. The City lists hybrid tennis and pickleball courts at other parks, including Heritage, but gives only a city-wide total for them, so none is added to any venue here. On a tennis court the regulations are explicit: "Tennis courts are designated solely for tennis use", and if tennis players arrive "those playing pickleball or badminton must vacate the court". Tennis shoes are required on every City court.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07
Eighteen courts across three parks, every one lit in the City's own word, every park open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. Irvine is the first California city on this site. Courts #3 and #4 at Mike Ward Community Park and Courts #5 and #6 at Portola Springs Community Park can be booked at "Resident Rate: $17/hr" and "Non-Resident Rate: $19/hr". The other fourteen courts are first come, first served and the City states no price for them.
The City runs junior, adult and private lessons at all three parks through contract instructors, and a league, Irvine Team Pickleball, at Portola Springs: eight teams, a seven-week round robin and three-week playoffs, self-rated at 3.5, $490 per team per season. The City also says it "is evaluating building pickleball courts at the Great Park".
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-07
Every fact on this page comes from one of these, and each venue names the source behind each of its own fields: . How we verify.