8 courtsPublic ParkIrvine, CA
Mike Ward Community Park
Lighted
20 Lake Road
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
7 pickleball venues in Orange County, CA, covering 31 courts across 2 cities. Every figure here is drawn only from venues checked against a named source, and each one shows the source and the date. Last checked Sep 2026.





Boardwalk ParkEdison ParkMarina ParkWorthy ParkMike Ward Community ParkPortola Springs Community ParkHeritage Community Park6 of these have a page of their own. The rest are verified to exactly the same standard, and every fact on this card and in the table below comes from the same records, but nobody has written them up yet, and a venue page here needs a couple of paragraphs about the actual place before it earns a URL.
8 courtsPublic ParkIrvine, CA
Lighted
20 Lake Road
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
6 courtsPublic ParkIrvine, CA
Lighted
900 Tomato Springs
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
4 courtsPublic Park
4 courtsPublic ParkIrvine, CA
Lighted
14301 Yale Ave.
lit for evening play · nets not stated · restroom nearby
4 courtsPublic Park
4 courtsPublic Park
1 courtPublic ParkAcross the county, 3 of 7 venues have lit courts for evening play.
Two cities in Orange County are published here, and both were read on the same day. Irvine has three venues and eighteen courts, every one of them lit in the City's own word: eight at Mike Ward Community Park, six at Portola Springs Community Park and four at Heritage Community Park. Huntington Beach has four venues and thirteen courts, every one of them unlit in the City's own word: four each at Edison Park, Marina Park and Worthy Park, and one at Boardwalk Park. That makes seven venues and thirty-one courts, eighteen of them lit and thirteen stated unlit, with no lighting silence anywhere.
Orange County contains many other cities, Anaheim, Santa Ana, Newport Beach and Costa Mesa among them, and none of those has been checked against a named source, so none appears anywhere on this site. One Irvine venue is absent by refusal rather than by omission. Los Olivos Community Park is credited with "two lit pickleball courts" on two City pages and "3 Lighted Pickleball Courts" on a third, and a count the operator states two ways cannot be published.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-07
What we cover in this county splits cleanly on one fact, and the two cities sit on opposite sides of it. Irvine's eighteen courts are all lit and all in parks open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. Huntington Beach's thirteen sit under a City heading that reads "CITY PARKS WITH A PICKLEBALL COURT (NO LIGHTING)", and the City states no hours for them at all. A player with a job has an evening in Irvine and does not have one in Huntington Beach.
The venues are of different kinds. Irvine's three are large community parks, approximately 22, 32 and 36.5 acres, with lit tennis, soccer, softball, basketball and racquetball beside the pickleball, community centres at two of them, and restrooms stated at all three. Huntington Beach's four get one line each on a Park Amenities page: name, address and count. One court at Boardwalk Park means one game at a time and no rotation.
Price divides the county the same way. Irvine prices two courts at each of its two largest venues, $17 an hour for residents and $19 for non-residents, and calls the rest first come, first served. Huntington Beach prices reserved tennis courts at $9 an hour and never prices or frees a pickleball court. Neither city writes the word free. Irvine also runs a league at Portola Springs and lessons at all three parks; Huntington Beach publishes nothing of that kind for pickleball.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07
The gap here is the size of the county. Two cities are read; Anaheim, Santa Ana, Newport Beach and Costa Mesa are not, and nothing on this page is an estimate of Orange County's pickleball. A city publishes when three or more of its venues carry a source and a date.
Irvine's gap is contradiction. The City's regulations page says it has "12 public pickleball courts"; its per-park sentence on the pickleball page adds to twenty, and its park pages add to twenty-one once the three at Los Olivos are counted. Its hybrid tennis-and-pickleball courts number ten on one page, nine on another and eight in a third sentence, and never have a per-park figure, so Knollcrest, San Carlo, Turtle Rock and University are not venues here despite being named by the City.
Huntington Beach's gap is silence. Hours, price, surface and indoor or outdoor are unstated for every pickleball court, and Worthy Park carries two City addresses, 1831 17th Street beside the count and 1801 Main Street on the tennis page. Clubs, HOAs and commercial venues may well hold courts in Orange County, and none of them publishes a source this site has read.
City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Irvine Community Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07 · City of Huntington Beach Community & Library Services, checked 2026-09-07
See every venue across Orange County in one table — city, court count, lights and the date each was checked — so comparing options across the county takes one scroll instead of nine open tabs.
| Venue | City | Courts | Lights | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mike Ward Community Park | Irvine | 8 courts | Yes | 2026-09-07 |
| Portola Springs Community Park | Irvine | 6 courts | Yes | 2026-09-07 |
| Edison Park | Huntington Beach | 4 courts | No | 2026-09-07 |
| Heritage Community Park | Irvine | 4 courts | Yes | 2026-09-07 |
| Marina Park | Huntington Beach | 4 courts | No | 2026-09-07 |
| Worthy Park | Huntington Beach | 4 courts | No | 2026-09-07 |
| Boardwalk Park | Huntington Beach | 1 court | No | 2026-09-07 |
No honest page can tell you. What has been checked is 31 courts across seven venues in two cities, 18 in Irvine and 13 in Huntington Beach, each with a source and a date you can see. Every other city in the county is unread.
Because the City of Irvine states two counts for it: "two lit pickleball courts" on its pickleball page and its regulations page, and "3 Lighted Pickleball Courts" on the park's own page. This site publishes the number an operator states, and cannot publish when the operator states two.
The California state page lists every county and city we publish. Everything above is checked against a named source; how we verify explains the ladder we work down and what we refuse to do.