Find Pickleball CourtsFind Pickleball CourtsClaim Your Court

Free Pickleball Courts in Portland, OR

6 venues in Portland, OR that are free to play. Every one has been checked against a named source, and the count above is drawn only from those, never from the imported records we have not confirmed.

6Matching venues
29Courts
14Verified in Portland

Why this matters here

Six venues, 29 courts, and the first time this directory has been able to publish a free page at all. Every city before Portland had parks whose courts were almost certainly free to walk onto, and not one of their operators said so in writing. Portland Parks & Recreation puts the word "free" in the same line as the court count for all six of its outdoor park sites, which turns a universal assumption into a stated fact. This is not a list of courts you can probably play on for nothing; it is a list of courts the city has said so about.

What puts a venue on this list

fee_type of free, and no membership price above zero. A drop-in session with a door fee is not free, which keeps all four Portland community centres off this list at $6 and $5. The Portland Tennis Center is off it too: its pickleball runs through registration and the city publishes no figure, so its cost is not stated rather than free. Being a public park is not enough. Five other cities in this directory are full of municipal courts nobody charges for, and none of them is on a free page, because their operators never wrote it down.

Sources: Portland Parks & Recreation, checked 2026-09-03

The 6 venues

What is deliberately not on this list

Drop-in sessions with a door fee are not free and are not listed. Neither is any venue with a membership price above zero, however low. A venue whose cost the operator does not state stays off this list rather than being assumed free.

Questions about this list

Which Portland pickleball courts are free?

All six outdoor park sites: Columbia Park and Sellwood Park with eight courts each, Gabriel Park with six, Pier Park with four, Laurelhurst Park with two and Hillside Park with one. Twenty-nine courts in total, each described as free by Portland Parks & Recreation on the same line as its court count.

Is anything else in the city free?

Not that the city has said. The four community centres charge $6 for adults and $5 for seniors per drop-in session. The Portland Tennis Center states no price for its summer pickleball programme, which is not the same as being free, so it does not appear here.

Do I still need to bring anything?

A net, at four of the six. Columbia, Pier, Sellwood and Hillside all say bring your own; that is 21 of the 29 free courts. Laurelhurst and Gabriel include nets, and both are courts the city describes as 'pickleball only', so at those two a paddle and a ball are all you need.

Are the free courts lit?

Not stated, at every one of them. Portland Parks & Recreation says nothing about lighting anywhere on its pickleball page, so all six sites read “not stated” rather than “no”. Since the courts are open dawn to dusk rather than to a clock time, that gap matters most between October and March.

Wider area

This list exists because at least three verified Portland venues match it; below three we would not publish the page at all rather than ship a list of one. See every venue in Portland, or how we verify for the source ladder behind each entry.