26 courtsIndoor & OutdoorPickleball Charlotte - Sharon Lakes
Lighted
8401 SHARON LAKES RD, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28210
12 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
We list 15 pickleball venues in Charlotte, covering 123 courts. Every figure on this page comes from the parks records of the authority that runs them, and every venue below carries the source it came from and the date we checked it. Last checked Sep 2026.











Clarks Creek ParkClanton ParkFreedom ParkMartin Luther King Jr. ParkCol. Francis J. Beatty ParkClarke Creek Pickleball Courts (Highland Creek)Pickleball Charlotte - Sharon LakesCornwell CenterPeak Time PickleballPickleball Charlotte - BallantyneMyers Park Country ClubProsperity Athletic ClubProvidence Country ClubRallyStarclaire Recreation Club5 of these have a page of their own. The rest are verified to exactly the same standard, and every fact on this card and in the table below comes from the same records, but nobody has written them up yet, and a venue page here needs a couple of paragraphs about the actual place before it earns a URL.
26 courtsIndoor & OutdoorLighted
8401 SHARON LAKES RD, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28210
12 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
19 courtsIndoor1515 S CLARKSON ST, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28208
lighting not stated · nets not stated
14 courtsIndoor & Outdoor11611 ARDREY KELL RD, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28277
6 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
8 courtsPublic Park
8 courtsIndoor & Outdoor101 SOUTHSIDE DR, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28217
4 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
6 courtsPublic Park
6 courtsPublic Park
6 courtsPublic Park
6 courtsOutdoor2415 ROSWELL AVE, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28209
6 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
6 courts9300 BROWNE RD, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28269
lighting not stated · nets not stated
4 courtsOutdoorLighted
6000 CLARKE CREEK PKWY, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28269
4 outdoor courts · lit for evening play · nets not stated
4 courts6001 PROVIDENCE COUNTRY CLUB DR, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28277
lighting not stated · nets not stated
4 courtsOutdoor7700 WOODSTREAM DR, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28210
4 outdoor courts · lighting not stated · nets not stated
3 courtsPublic Park
3 courtsIndoor2001 SELWYN AVE, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28207
lighting not stated · nets not stated
On lighting, 2 of 2 venues that report it (13 not stated) have lit courts for evening play. On cost, 0 of 0 venues that report it (15 not stated) are free to play. Where an operator does not state a fee we have not claimed one either way.
See all 15 Charlotte pickleball venues in one table — court count, indoor or outdoor, lights, nets and address — so comparing options across Charlotte, North Carolina takes one scroll instead of nine open tabs.
| Venue | Courts | Type | Lights | Nets | Address |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pickleball Charlotte - Sharon Lakes | 26 courts | Both | Yes | Not stated | 8401 SHARON LAKES RD, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28210 |
| Peak Time Pickleball | 19 courts | Indoor | Not stated | Not stated | 1515 S CLARKSON ST, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28208 |
| Pickleball Charlotte - Ballantyne | 14 courts | Both | Not stated | Not stated | 11611 ARDREY KELL RD, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28277 |
| Clarks Creek Park | 8 courts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 5435 Hucks Rd |
| Rally | 8 courts | Both | Not stated | Not stated | 101 SOUTHSIDE DR, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28217 |
| Clanton Park | 6 courts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 1520 Clanton Rd |
| Freedom Park | 6 courts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2435 Cumberland Ave |
| Martin Luther King Jr. Park | 6 courts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 2600 Ravencroft Dr |
| Myers Park Country Club | 6 courts | Outdoor | Not stated | Not stated | 2415 ROSWELL AVE, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28209 |
| Prosperity Athletic Club | 6 courts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 9300 BROWNE RD, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28269 |
| Clarke Creek Pickleball Courts (Highland Creek) | 4 courts | Outdoor | Yes | Not stated | 6000 CLARKE CREEK PKWY, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28269 |
| Providence Country Club | 4 courts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 6001 PROVIDENCE COUNTRY CLUB DR, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28277 |
| Starclaire Recreation Club | 4 courts | Outdoor | Not stated | Not stated | 7700 WOODSTREAM DR, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28210 |
| Col. Francis J. Beatty Park | 3 courts | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 4330 Weddington Rd |
| Cornwell Center | 3 courts | Indoor | Not stated | Not stated | 2001 SELWYN AVE, CHARLOTTE, NC, 28207 |
Clarks Creek Park, with eight, the largest pickleball site we list in Charlotte, in the north of the city off Hucks Road. Courts 1 to 5 are reservable and 6, 7 and 8 are always open play. Do not confuse it with Clarks Creek Nature Preserve directly across the road, or Clarks Creek Greenway Park on Mallard Creek Road; the county's parks layer holds all three as separate records.
Again Clarks Creek: three of its eight courts are permanently open play, more than any other Charlotte park. Clanton, Freedom and Martin Luther King Jr. each keep two back, and Colonel Francis J. Beatty Park keeps exactly one of its three.
Freedom Park, one of the county's Regional parks and a Charlotte landmark in its own right. Six pickleball courts, numbered 11 to 16. Four are reservable and two (13 and 16) are always open play. The county publishes nothing about lighting, surface or hours for them.
Mecklenburg County publishes one sentence about parking across its whole park system, and it is a warning: local parks, meaning neighbourhood parks, "do not typically have parking or restroom features as these locations are small to medium parks that are meant to provide open space for residents near their homes". None of the five pickleball parks here is classified as a neighbourhood park, so the warning most likely does not apply to them. Most likely is not a fact, and no venue here records anything about parking or restrooms.
The county publishes no capacity, time limit, permit requirement or fee for parking at any of the five.
Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation, checked 2026-09-03 · City of Charlotte Open Data, checked 2026-09-03
Charlotte is the only city in this directory where the operator splits each park's courts between bookable and not, court by court. Mecklenburg County says that "Some courts can be reserved for a small fee" and that "Any courts not listed are non-reservable and open to the public on a first come, first serve basis".
Clarks Creek reserves courts 1 to 5 and leaves 6, 7 and 8 open. Clanton reserves 1 to 4 and leaves 5 and 6. Freedom reserves 11, 12, 14 and 15 and leaves 13 and 16. Martin Luther King Jr. reserves 2, 3, 5 and 6 and leaves 1 and 4. Beatty reserves 2 and 3 and leaves 1. Every park keeps some courts back. At Beatty that means competing for a single court.
The county publishes no opening hours for any of them. It says local park courts "are always open for play", which is a statement about access rather than a timetable. It publishes no lighting information at all, so every venue here reads "Not stated" on lights.
Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation, checked 2026-09-03
Nothing at all. Mecklenburg County publishes no surface material, no condition and no resurfacing date for any of the five parks, so every Charlotte venue reads "Not stated" on surface. What it does state is each park's size class. Freedom Park and Colonel Francis J. Beatty Park are Regional parks, the largest category, and the other three are Community parks. All five are recorded as Developed rather than planned or undeveloped.
Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation, checked 2026-09-03 · City of Charlotte Open Data, checked 2026-09-03
The Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation Department runs 290 parks and facilities across more than 23,000 acres. What makes Charlotte distinctive in this directory is not scale but bookkeeping: it is the only operator that identifies courts individually, by number, and tells you which of them can be reserved.
At Freedom Park the pickleball courts are numbered 11 to 16, because courts 1 to 10 at the same park are tennis courts, listed separately higher up the same page. The county runs one numbering series across both sports at that site.
The same county page lists six Hybrid Courts each at Latta Park and Tuckaseegee Park under their own heading, and never says what a hybrid court is. Those twelve courts are not published here until the county defines the term. Reservations cost "a small fee" with no price named, so every venue reads "Not stated" on cost.
Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation, checked 2026-09-03 · Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation, checked 2026-09-03 · City of Charlotte Open Data, checked 2026-09-03 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-03
Anything an operator does not publish shows as “Not stated” rather than being guessed at, most often surface, fees and opening hours. Many of these courts are very probably free to play, but a belief is not a source, so we do not print it as one.
29 across five Mecklenburg County parks: eight at Clarks Creek Park, six each at Clanton Park, Freedom Park and Martin Luther King Jr. Park, and three at Colonel Francis J. Beatty Park. The county also lists six "hybrid" courts each at Latta Park and Tuckaseegee Park, which are not published here because it never says what a hybrid court is.
At most of them, yes. Nineteen of the 29 courts are reservable for what the county calls "a small fee"; the other ten are always open play on a first-come, first-served basis. Every park keeps at least one court back for drop-in play. The county does not publish what the fee is, so cost is recorded as not stated.
Charlotte, though the records disagree. Its postcode is 28105, a Matthews mailing ZIP, while the City of Charlotte parks layer labels its city as Charlotte. The US Census geocoder places the park's published coordinates inside the incorporated place of Charlotte, in Mecklenburg County.
Charlotte sits in Mecklenburg County. Every venue in the county, including these, is listed on Mecklenburg County. The North Carolina page covers every city we publish in the state.
Every fact on this page comes from one of these, and each venue names the source behind each of its own fields: Mecklenburg County Park and Recreation, checked 2026-09-03 · US Census Bureau, checked 2026-09-03 · City of Charlotte Open Data, checked 2026-09-03 · Cornwell Center at Myers Park Baptist Church, checked 2026-09-15 · Highland Creek Community Association, checked 2026-09-15 · Peak Time Pickleball, checked 2026-09-15 · Pickleball Charlotte, checked 2026-09-15 · Playbook Management Company (Owner's Representative / Project Manager for the club's own construction project), checked 2026-09-15 · Prosperity Athletic Club, checked 2026-09-15 · Providence Country Club (McConnell Golf), checked 2026-09-15 · Rally, checked 2026-09-15 · Starclaire Recreation Club, checked 2026-09-15. How we verify.